Performance Enhancing Drugs

huge_grow

As we get ready for the Olympics, I think back to some of the Games, of the past.  I inevitably thought of Michael Phelps.  How sad that there was so much controversy over the marijuana smoking incident.  It got me wondering; is Pot a performance enhancing drug?

Well the easy answer is no, but I think there is more to it.  I remember reading that Phelps was on a 6,000 calorie a day diet.  He did this because of his extreme workouts and exercise regimen.  His body needed that many calories just to keep from consuming itself for energy.  Now, think about this.  How do you eat this much food?  I’ll tell you how…munchies.  He smoked weed so he would get the munchies.  This allowed him to consume the massive amount of calories to fuel his training.  Everyone knows that Cheetos and Fun Yuns are the best carbs for athletes.  I think I read that somewhere.

Bruce Jenner toked in the 70’s (before he decided to switch teams).  Every Snow Boarder from every country lights up, but I’m not sure if it’s for the caloric intake assistance.  Do you remember that ski jumper, Eddie the Eagle?  Yep, you guessed it.  How else do you think he kept up the happy go lucky attitude even while coming in last place?  Mary Lou Retton…well no…she didn’t, but she is part Energizer Bunny.

I know it’s not an Olympic sport, but competitive eaters probably use it to assist in consuming 80 hot dogs in 15 minutes. (Why don’t they have Dorito eating competitions?) Maybe someday they will add Buffalo wing eating to the summer games. (Fingers crossed) Until then, I don’t think weed will be considered a performance enhancing drug, but I think you now see that it actually is.

Now, pass the Little Debbie’s, I’m training for 2016 in Rio!

2 thoughts on “Performance Enhancing Drugs

Leave a Reply

